Guide Posts

Email Delegation

What is Email Delegation?

Email Delegation is the process by which an email user grants another party permission to receive and respond to email messages on their behalf. This is a very important feature in the office set up whereby a manager can grant e-mail rights to an assistant or administrator in the organisation so that they can respond on their behalf in case they are not available or when the matter doesn’t require the manager’s attention. Delegation can also be used in the family setup where one can chose to delegate emails to their spouse.

Delegation in Gmail

Gmail allows users to delegate mails access up to 10 users for personal emails. These delegates will have no rights to change the account settings or chat on behalf of the mail owner but they will be able to read send, and delete messages on their behalf and even access the contacts of the email owner.

How to delegate your email

  • Click on the gear at the top right corner of the Gmail window
  • Click on settings and select the Accounts and Import tab.
  • Locate grant access to your account and click on Add another Account
  • Enter a Google mail address of the person you want to access your account
  • At this stage you will be prompted to send email to grant access
  • The delegate then receives a notification that they have been granted access to you mail
  • The delegate will have to confirm the request after which it may take about 30 minutes for the process to be verified. You can check the status on the Accounts and Import tab in Settings

Note: Any messages that are sent on your behalf will have your name listed in addition to the delegate’s name. To use delegation both accounts must be enabled and verified.

How to access the delegated email account

To access a delegate account, click on the profile picture or email address at the top right corner of the window and click on the delegated email address which will be displayed there.

  • How to remove a delegated account
  • Click on the gear at the top right corner of the email window
  • Select on settings and click on the Accounts and Import tab.
  • Navigate to Grant access to your account
  • Click on delete on the account you wish to delete